U.S. Marshals Service Commemorative Coin Legislation

The U.S. Marshals Service Commemorative Coin Act (H.R. 886/S. 431) was signed into law by President Obama on April 2, 2012. As a result, three commemorative coins (gold, silver, and a clad) that honor the 225th Anniversary of the U.S. Marshals Service, our nation's oldest federal law enforcement agency, will be minted in 2015.

Please take a minute to thank your Congressional representatives for their support.  Below is a link to the list of co-sponsors.  We are especially grateful to Representative Steve Womack, Representative Mike Ross, Senator Mark Pryor, and Senator John Boozman for making this happen.

As a reminder, this legislation is budget neutral and will not cost the taxpayer anything.

The first $5 million from the surcharge will be distributed to the U.S. Marshals Museum.  Any surcharges collected in excess of $5 million will be distributed equally to the following organizations:

  • National Center for Missing and Exploited Children
  • National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund
  • Federal Law Enforcement Officers Association

Thank you to our Coin Co-Sponsors!